This is “About the Author”, article 1 from the book Communication for Business Success (v. 1.0). For details on it (including licensing), click here.

For more information on the source of this book, or why it is available for free, please see the project's home page. You can browse or download additional books there. To download a .zip file containing this book to use offline, simply click here.

Has this book helped you? Consider passing it on:
Creative Commons supports free culture from music to education. Their licenses helped make this book available to you. helps people like you help teachers fund their classroom projects, from art supplies to books to calculators.

About the Author

Scott McLean is the Shadle-Edgecombe Endowed Faculty Chair at Arizona Western College. He serves as the professor of speech communication with an emphasis in business communication for a combined campus partnership with the University of Arizona and Northern Arizona University–Yuma.

Scott is the author of The Basics of Speech Communication and The Basics of Interpersonal Communication, both currently published by Allyn & Bacon.

Beyond his classroom experience, Scott regularly serves as a communications advisor to the industry. He has extensive experience and publications in the areas of health communication, safe and healthy work environments, and organizational and crisis communication. He has served as an evaluator for the United States National Institutes of Health’s Small Business and Innovative Research (SBIR) program since 1995. He served as an evaluator of educational programs for the Ministerio de Hacienda de Chile. His development of the Tenio Natural Reserve in Southern Chile has brought together people from around the world to preserve and restore indigenous flora and fauna. Their collective effort will serve for generations to come.

Scott studied at Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile and at Washington State University’s Edward R. Murrow School of Communication. He and his family divide their time between the United States and Puerto Montt, Chile.