This is “Acknowledgments”, article 2 from the book 21st Century American Government and Politics (v. 1.0). For details on it (including licensing), click here.

For more information on the source of this book, or why it is available for free, please see the project's home page. You can browse or download additional books there. To download a .zip file containing this book to use offline, simply click here.

Has this book helped you? Consider passing it on:
Creative Commons supports free culture from music to education. Their licenses helped make this book available to you. helps people like you help teachers fund their classroom projects, from art supplies to books to calculators.


The authors would like to thank the following colleagues who have reviewed the text and provided comprehensive feedback and suggestions for improving the material:

  • William Jesse Barnett Jr., Kentucky Christian University
  • James Druckman, Northwestern University
  • Stephen Farnsworth, George Mason University
  • Brian Fogarty, University of Missouri–St. Louis
  • Jeff Gulati, Bentley University
  • Scott Heffner, De Anza Community College
  • Diane Heith, St. John’s University
  • Christopher S. Kelley, Miami University of Ohio
  • Jodie Drapal Kluver, Bridgewater State University
  • Regina Lawrence, Louisiana State University
  • Jason Lindsey, St. Cloud State University
  • Domenic Maffei, Caldwell College
  • Danielle Vinson, Furman University
  • Michael W. Wagner, University of Nebraska–Lincoln

We appreciate the contribution of John Maltese of the University of Georgia, who was with us at the start and produced the initial draft of Chapter 15 "The Courts".

We are also thankful for the contribution of Christopher Borick of Muhlenberg College, who produced the initial draft of Chapter 16 "Policymaking and Domestic Policies", and Glenn Hastedt of James Madison University, who produced the initial draft of Chapter 17 "Foreign and National Security Policies".

Over the years, the following Duke University graduate and undergraduate students worked with David Paletz on the text. We give thanks for them all:

  • Bradford Bishop
  • Lisa Caldemeyer
  • Dana Edelstein
  • Priya Gupta
  • Ian McDonald
  • Taneisha Means
  • Evan Oxman
  • Jill Rickershauser
  • Amisha Shrimanker
  • Malina Swiatek
  • John White